Skip to main content

Select Accept all cookies to allow optional cookies, or Reject optional cookies to turn off optional advertising cookies. Analytics remains on with either choice. You can change your advertising choice at any time through Cookie settings.

Cookie Policy (opens in a new tab)Privacy Policy (opens in a new tab)

Kenya Markets

Kenya Equities & Corporate Performance

Kenya Markets — Publication 23 Jul 2026 · Data cut-off 22 Jul 2026 close

Publication 23 Jul 202617 min readSerrari Compliance & Strategy
Contents & display options
Kenya Markets

Kenya Equities & Corporate Performance

Kenya Markets — Publication 23 Jul 2026 · Data cut-off 22 Jul 2026 close

Publication 23 Jul 202617 min readSerrari Compliance & Strategy

Earnings hold, but foreign selling and thin liquidity test a bank-led re-rating. Through 22 July the Banking Index led at +30.4% YTD; turnover fell 64.9% to KES347.3m with KCB, Safaricom and KenGen generating 62.2% of it, and foreign investors net sellers by KES147.1m.

Report header

ControlSpecificationControlSpecification
TitleEarnings hold; liquidity tests re-ratingReview period31 Dec 2025–22 Jul 2026
MarketNairobi Securities ExchangeNear-term lens17–22 Jul 2026
Publication23 Jul 2026Forward horizon1–8 weeks
Price basisUnadjusted price returnsTotal returnNot available consistently

ANALYST READ The report distinguishes price return from total return and observed flows from inferred allocation. The dominant classification is a bank-led cyclical expansion with mixed-and-fragile liquidity at the margin.


Thesis read

THESIS Kenya is in a bank-led earnings and valuation expansion, reinforced by Safaricom's cash-backed growth and a reopening listing pipeline; the move is not yet fully liquid or flow-confirmed because foreign selling persists and three counters generated 62% of the latest session's turnover.


Evidence Key

Evidence key. E4 direct completed/primary evidence; E3 robust market or transaction evidence; E2 corroborated secondary evidence; E1 inference/partial evidence; E0 unavailable.

Durability. D1 daily; D2 tactical; D3 cyclical; D4 structural.


Executive equity read

Kenyan equities remain in an earnings-backed re-rating, but the latest tape is less convincing than the year-to-date headline. Through 22 July, the Banking Index led at +30.4% YTD, ahead of NSE 20 (+27.6%), NSE 10 (+27.2%), NSE 25 (+26.8%) and NASI (+24.6%). In the partial week from 17 July, NSE 20 was strongest (+1.2%); on 22 July itself, NSE 20 slipped 0.06% while NASI rose 0.37%, signalling uneven participation. Banks and Safaricom remain the core leadership; thin insurance and selected agricultural counters produced larger individual moves but with less dependable liquidity.

Fundamentals support the liquid leaders. Safaricom's audited FY2026 service revenue rose 11.5%, attributable profit 37.0% and operating cash flow 23.4%; Equity Group's Q1 profit after tax rose 24%. EABL's half-year revenue and profit rose 11% and 38%. The qualification is breadth of evidence: current public disclosures do not provide a reliable equal-weighted index, complete daily advance/decline series or current domestic institutional net allocation. Price strength therefore looks broader across major indices, but practical liquidity remains concentrated.

Turnover fell 64.9% on 22 July to KES347.3m; KCB, Safaricom and KenGen generated 62.2% of it. Foreign investors were net sellers by KES147.1m that day and by USD2.2m in the week ended 17 July. Domestic buyers necessarily absorbed the net supply, but their identity and durability are not disclosed. The strongest capital-market event is the KES106.3bn Kenya Pipeline offer; it reopened the listing channel, yet it sold government-held shares, so KPC itself received no new equity. The cross-asset anchor is a stable KES129.37/USD and 8.75% policy rate, while the main risk is a liquidity-led reversal in heavyweights. The next concentrated catalyst is Safaricom's 31 July AGM, followed by its 4 August dividend book close.


What this means to Investors

Plain-language questionSerrari interpretation
What changed?Prices kept rising, but trading value fell sharply.
Who led?Banks and Safaricom; KCB dominated the latest turnover.
Broad or concentrated?Broad across main indices, concentrated in practical liquidity.
Profits and dividends?Supportive in Safaricom, Equity and EABL; not universal.
Are foreigners buying?No—net sellers in the latest day and completed week.
Where is money moving?Into bank-led secondary trading and ownership transfers; little new corporate equity.
Main illiquidity risk?A quoted gain may not be realisable at size.
Monitor next?Foreign flow, turnover breadth, H1 bank results and Safaricom’s AGM.

ANALYST READ Valuation describes the price paid for earnings or assets; it is not a guarantee of return. Retail access is improving, but thin counters can move sharply on small trades and may be difficult to exit.


NSE equity scorecard

Is the Kenyan equity-market move broad, liquid and supported by corporate fundamentals?

Figure 1. NSE index price returns through 22 July 2026 — YTD, MTD and 17–22 July by index (NASI, NSE 10, NSE 20, NSE 25, Banking).
Figure 1. NSE index price returns through 22 July 2026 — YTD, MTD and 17–22 July by index (NASI, NSE 10, NSE 20, NSE 25, Banking).
IndexLevelWeek¹MTD/QTDYTDLiquidity / regimeSource
NASI232.56+1.1%+3.75%+24.65%KES3.903tn m-cap; mixed-liquidS1/S4–S6
NSE 102,499.52+0.4%+3.73%+27.19%Large-cap re-ratingS1/S4–S6
NSE 204,004.21+3.0%+6.62%+27.55%Price-weighted breadth proxyS1/S4–S6
NSE 256,464.48+0.9%+4.12%+26.83%Large/mid-cap confirmationS1/S4–S6
Bank265.61n/a+4.12%+30.42%Established leadershipS1/S5/S6

¹Last completed week ended 17 July. MTD equals QTD because the quarter began on 1 July. Dividend/total-return contribution, index-level valuation, current free-float breadth and index-specific turnover are not published consistently at the cut-off.

ANALYST READ The Banking Index best expresses the regime, while positive YTD returns across four broad indices provide directional confirmation. However, total-return uplift cannot be measured consistently and the latest session's KES347.3m turnover does not confirm a fully liquid expansion.

Figure 1. NSE index price returns through 22 July 2026.

ANALYST READ The YTD advance is not confined to one index, but banks lead. The stronger July gain in NSE 20 suggests some participation beyond the top ten; the missing equal-weighted series prevents a definitive breadth claim.


What changed

Date / assetExact developmentEquity relevanceEvidence
22 Jul / NASI+0.37% to 232.56Headline index extended gainsS1 • E4
22 Jul / LiquidityTurnover -64.9% to KES347.3mWeak price confirmationS1/S3 • E3
22 Jul / ForeignNet sale KES147.1mPressure in liquid leadersS3 • E3
17–22 Jul / NSE 20+1.18% versus +0.43% NASISome broader price participationS1/S2 • E4
23 Jun / FamilyListed at KES18; 22 Jul KES26.65+48.1% since introductionS2/S15 • E4
30 Jun / SafaricomVodacom stake rose to 55%Control concentrated; no issuer capitalS20 • E3

ANALYST READ The turnover collapse matters most now: it converts a positive index move into a less robust signal and increases sensitivity to block activity in KCB and Safaricom.


Why it changed

Ranked driverTransmissionStatus / confidencePersistence / alternative
1. EarningsBank, telco and beverage profit growth supports priceObserved fact / highD3; alternative: re-rating already advanced
2. Lower ratesLower discount rate supports P/E and P/BStrong evidence / highD3; fails if inflation/yields rise
3. DividendsCash yields support income demandObserved fact / highD2–D3; bills remain competitive
4. Domestic absorptionLocal buying offsets disclosed foreign salesModerate interpretationD1–D2; identity unknown
5. Listings/actionsKPC, Family and ownership changes raise attentionObserved fact / highD4; mostly secondary capital

ANALYST READ Earnings are the dominant fundamental driver, while lower rates enable the valuation response. The most important alternative explanation is domestic momentum in a thin market; it can lift prices without durable new allocation.


Kenya equity regime

ComponentCurrent / previousEvidenceImplicationConfidence / failure
ActivityModerate / moderateCorporate revenue growthCyclical supportMedium / volume stalls
Inflation6.41% / lowerJune CPILimits further easingHigh / >7%
RatesCBR 8.75% / 9.0% DecCBK decisionsRe-rating supportHigh / bills rise >10%
KES129.37/USD / stableCBK 22 JulForeign-return anchorHigh / sustained weakening
EarningsImproving / improvingS10–S14Fundamental supportHigh / negative revisions
LiquidityThin / stronger22 Jul turnoverFragilityHigh / persistent sub-KES300m
FlowsForeign selling / sellingS3/S4No foreign confirmationMedium / turns positive

ANALYST READ Price and earnings point to a bank-led cyclical expansion; liquidity and foreign flow do not. The correct classification is therefore earnings-led re-rating with mixed-and-fragile marginal flows, not a broad foreign-flow recovery.


Index performance and concentration

CompanyCurrent return / proxyTurnover shareEarningsMain driver
Safaricom+24.5% YTD; ~36% total m-cap proxy²21.6%FY PAT attributable +37%Operations + control change
KCB+24.7% YTD32.4%FY dividend KES7Bank leadership / income
Equity+30.3% YTD3.7%³Q1 PAT +24%Regional earnings
Co-op+45.9% YTDn/mLatest trend positiveDomestic bank re-rating
EABL+2.5% YTDn/mH1 PAT +38%Earnings ahead of price

²Serrari estimate using audited Safaricom issued shares and total NSE market capitalisation; this is not a free-float index weight. ³Foreign-flow turnover share is not index contribution. Official current constituent weights and equal-weighted returns were unavailable (E0), so exact contribution is not asserted.

ANALYST READ Large banks and Safaricom dominate investable liquidity, but exact index contribution cannot be calculated from public current weights. Concentration raises downside sensitivity because foreign exits naturally target the same liquid counters.


Market breadth

PeriodAdvancers / declinersSector signalBreadth assessment
22 JulExact counts unavailableNASI +0.37%; NSE20 -0.06%Mixed session
17–22 JulExact counts unavailableAll five tracked indices positiveIndex breadth positive
YTDExact counts unavailableBank +30.4%; four core indices +24.6–27.6%Broad by index, not proven by stock
Small/illiquidSameer +5.1%; Unga +2.9%; Britam -9.7%High dispersionSpeculative / thin

ANALYST READ Participation is wider than Safaricom because bank and broader indices confirm YTD gains. It is not possible to verify the percentage of active shares gaining or new highs, so the breadth conclusion remains E1 rather than observed E4.


Turnover, volume and liquidity

Figure 2. Concentration of NSE equity turnover on 22 July 2026.
Figure 2. Concentration of NSE equity turnover on 22 July 2026.
CounterTurnover KES mShareTrading / liquidity assessment
KCB112.4232.4%Deepest current counter; foreign outflow
Safaricom75.1721.6%Deep, but index concentration
KenGen28.498.2%Moderate; yield support
KPLC17.415.0%Moderate; higher volatility
Family Bank17.054.9%New listing; price discovery
HF13.113.8%Mid-cap liquidity
Market347.27100%15.10m shares; 8,860 deals

ANALYST READ KCB and Safaricom supplied 54% of session turnover; the top six supplied 76%. Headline returns in the remaining market can materially overstate practical investability and exit capacity.

Figure 2. Concentration of NSE equity turnover on 22 July 2026.

ANALYST READ Liquidity has not broadened meaningfully beyond the largest counters. The 'other' bucket is large only in aggregate; individual names within it may still be difficult to trade.


Sector rotation

Sector / proxyYTD price signalEarnings / dividendTurnover / flowStatus
BanksIndex +30.4%Profit growth; 6–9% yields in leadersLargest turnover; foreign sellingEstablished leadership
TelecomSafaricom +24.5%Strong cash-backed FY; 5.7% yield21.6% session turnoverEstablished leadership
Energy/utilitiesMixed; KPLC +47.1%KenGen yield 8.7%KenGen/KPLC 13.2% turnoverStrengthening
AgricultureSelected names +16–50%High dividends in teaThinMixed
InsuranceVery dispersedInvestment-market sensitivityThinLosing momentum
Consumer/manufacturingEABL +2.5%; BAT +26.1%EABL earnings strongSelectiveEarly improvement

ANALYST READ Leadership is cyclical and income-supported rather than purely defensive. Banks have multi-name confirmation; insurance and agriculture show price strength in individual illiquid counters without comparable earnings breadth.


Corporate earnings scorecard

Are listed-company earnings improving broadly enough to support the market?

Company / periodRevenuePAT / EPSMargin / cashDividend / assessment
Safaricom FY26+10.0% total; +11.5% service+37.0% attributable; EPS +37.4%EBITDA +27.9%; CFO +23.4%DPS KES2.00; strong
Equity Q1 26n/dPAT +24% to KES19.1bnRegional diversificationPositive
Stanchart Q1 26Operating income -13.5%PAT -26.3%NII -23.3%; provisions lowerWeak quarter
EABL H1 26+11% to KES75.5bnPAT +38% to KES11.2bnVolume +8%Strong
NSE PLC FY25Levy +75%; data +17%PAT +134% to KES272mFair-value gain materialDPS KES1.00; mixed quality

ANALYST READ Safaricom and Equity matter most for index-level earnings, while EABL offers a price/earnings divergence. Earnings breadth is improving but not uniform: Stanchart demonstrates that declining rates can compress bank income before volume growth offsets it.


Earnings quality

CompanyReported growthCash / exceptional effectQuality
SafaricomAttributable PAT +37%CFO +23%; Ethiopia translation loss KES17.7bnHigh, cash-backed
EquityQ1 PAT +24%Provision detail not harmonised in this reviewModerate-high
StanchartQ1 PAT -26%Lower loan-loss charge; no exceptional itemHigh but weaker
EABLH1 PAT +38%Volume +8%; cash detail not extractedModerate-high
NSE PLCFY PAT +134%KES284.7m fair-value gain; KES47.7m ATS impairmentMixed / market-dependent

ANALYST READ Safaricom's earnings are the strongest cash-backed evidence. NSE PLC's operating improvement is real, but fair-value gains materially amplify headline profit, so it should not be extrapolated mechanically.


Earnings revisions and guidance

Company / sectorPrevious → currentRevisionReaction / next trigger
SafaricomFY26 delivered above FY25 base; FY27 not quantified herePositive realised+24.5% YTD; AGM 31 Jul
Equity / banksQ1 profit growth remains positivePositive realisedBank Index +30.4% YTD; H1 results
StanchartQ1 income lower than prior yearNegative realised+14.5% YTD; H1 results
EABLH1 volume and profit strengthenedPositive realised+2.5% YTD; H2 execution
ConsensusReliable current estimates unavailableE0Do not infer revisions from prices alone

ANALYST READ The observable profit outlook is positive but company-specific, not a verified consensus upgrade cycle. EABL is the clearest case where reported earnings have outpaced price; Safaricom is the most market-significant.


Dividends and income

Figure 3. Selected trailing equity dividend yields versus the 91-day Treasury bill.
Figure 3. Selected trailing equity dividend yields versus the 91-day Treasury bill.
CompanyDPS / changeYieldCover / sustainabilityNext date
SafaricomKES2.00 vs 1.205.67%CFO covers total dividend ~2.1xBook 4 Aug; pay 4 Sep
KCBKES7.00 FY258.54%Earnings-supported; cash-flow detail n/aPaid/declared
StanchartKES31.00 FY259.11%High yield; Q1 PAT lowerPaid/declared
KenGenLatest annual8.70%Competitive with bills; capex riskn/a
BATLatest annual12.09%Highest screen yield; concentration riskn/a
NSE PLCKES1.00 incl. special4.19%Special component not recurringPay 31 Jul

ANALYST READ Safaricom's increase is cash-supported, while NSE PLC's special element should not be annualised. Several equities match or exceed the 8.799% 91-day bill, but investors assume price, liquidity and dividend-cut risk.

Figure 3. Selected trailing equity dividend yields versus the 91-day Treasury bill.

ANALYST READ Only three displayed equity yields clearly exceed the 91-day bill. Yield parity is not equivalence: bills offer shorter duration and higher liquidity, while equities offer growth and price risk.


Valuation

Company / segmentPriceP/E / yieldHistorical / liquidityAssessment
SafaricomKES35.30~14.8x² / 5.67%Liquid; re-rated with earningsDefensible, less cheap
BanksVariesDividend 4.5–9.1%Leadership; P/B not harmonisedMixed-positive
EABLKES269.50n/a / 1.48%Liquid; price lags H1 PATEarnings-supported
InsuranceVariesSparse comparable dataThin and high dispersionLiquidity discount required
REITsUSD/KES unitsDistributions incompleteExtremely thinIncome case unproven

²Serrari trailing estimate: KES35.30 divided by audited FY2026 EPS of KES2.39. Current forward P/E, sector P/B, EV/EBITDA, historical percentiles and regional peer sets were not consistently available; no unsupported precision is supplied.

ANALYST READ Safaricom's multiple is supported by cash growth but already reflects a rerating. Banks remain income-supported, although the lack of harmonised current P/B/ROE data limits quality-adjusted ranking. Illiquid apparent 'cheapness' may simply be an exit-risk discount.


Bank equities

BankQ1 profitNII / provisions / NPLYTD / yieldEquity assessment
Equity+24% PATDetailed harmonisation n/a+30.3% / 6.61%Regional growth leadership
Stanchart-26.3% PATNII -23.3%; provisions -20.7%; gross NPL -26.7% y/y+14.5% / 9.11%Income compression; strong capital
KCBLatest FY not restated heren/a+24.7% / 8.54%Liquid income leader
Co-opLatest trend positiven/a+45.9% / 7.15%Strong re-rating; verify H1
I&MQ1 filing availablen/a+59.6% / 5.54%Price leads disclosed synthesis
FamilyNewly listedn/a+48.1% since KES18 / 4.50%Price discovery; limited history

ANALYST READ Banks benefit from lower discount rates and generally positive profit trends, but Stanchart shows that falling asset yields can compress net interest income. Leadership is broad by price; sustainability requires H1 volume growth and stable asset quality.


Telecommunications and technology

MetricFY2026ChangeEquity interpretation
Service revenueKES414.1bn+11.5%Operational growth
M-PESA revenueKES182.7bn+13.4%45.6% of Kenya service revenue
Data revenueKES83.35bn+14.4%Usage monetisation
EBITDAKES220.3bn+27.9%Margin leverage
Operating cash flowKES169.9bn+23.4%Funds dividend and investment
Ethiopia revenueKES14.1bn+58.3% ex-IAS29Growth with FX/translation risk
OwnershipVodacom 55%+15pptControl concentration; no issuer funds

ANALYST READ Safaricom's case is operational, not merely valuation-led. Capex and Ethiopia support future growth but retain funding and currency risk. Its estimated 36% share of total NSE market capitalisation makes company-specific shocks market-wide.


Consumer and retail companies

CompanyRevenue / volumeMargins / cashPrice / incomeRead
EABLH1 revenue +11%; volume +8%PAT +38%; cash detail n/a+2.5% YTD; 1.48% yieldPricing and volume both support
BAT KenyaLatest FY data not refreshedCash-generative model+26.1%; 12.09% yieldIncome-led; regulatory risk
UngaCurrent earnings detail n/aInput-cost sensitive+28.7% YTDPrice strength unconfirmed
Car & GeneralCurrent detail n/aWorking-capital sensitiveDividend declaredDemand/currency exposure

ANALYST READ EABL provides the strongest evidence of real volume and pricing power. For smaller consumer counters, nominal price gains cannot substitute for current volume, inventory and cash-flow disclosure; imported-cost exposure rises if the KES weakens.


Industrials, manufacturing and construction

Company / themeObserved signalConstraintEquity read
KPLC+47.1% YTD; 5.0% turnover shareTariff, receivable and capex riskInfrastructure proxy; volatile
KenGen+12.8% YTD; 8.7% yieldLarge capex programmeIncome plus power demand
KPCKES106.3bn offer; KES9.14 currentNo new issuer equityInfrastructure listing, not funding
Crown PaintsKES3 dividend; current earnings not synthesisedInput FX and construction cycleNeeds operating confirmation
E.A. PortlandKES1.25 dividend; volatile priceThin liquidity / turnaround riskNot reliable cycle proof

ANALYST READ Utilities provide the clearest listed proxy for domestic infrastructure demand. KPC's listing deepens the market but does not prove corporate investment because sale proceeds accrued to the government, not the company.


Agriculture and export-oriented companies

CompanyYTD / yieldEarnings driverSustainability risk
Kapchorua Tea+49.6% / 8.66%Tea price, output and currencyWeather; thin turnover
Williamson Tea+16.2% / 8.63%Tea price, output and currencyCommodity volatility
Sasini+34.7% / n/aTea/coffee mixBiological assets; weather
KakuziPrice KES426.50Avocado/macadamia exportsHarvest and destination demand

ANALYST READ The share-price signal is positive but not enough to separate output, global price and currency effects. Tea yields are attractive, yet thin liquidity and weather-linked earnings volatility justify a durability discount.


Insurance, investment and financial companies

CompanyYTDOperating / market driverLiquidity / read
Britam+99.5%Insurance operations plus investment marketsThin; 22 Jul -9.7%
Jubilee+12.5%Underwriting and investment incomeKES13 dividend due 24 Jul
Kenya Re+17.3%Reinsurance and investment incomeKES0.15 dividend due 31 Jul
CIC+1.1%Underwriting and investment incomePrice laggard
NSE PLC+17.8%Trading/data fees and fair-value gainsOperating leverage; mixed quality

ANALYST READ Insurance returns are highly dispersed and partially market-sensitive. Britam's exceptional YTD gain and one-day fall demonstrate that headline returns are not a stable proxy for underwriting improvement.


Listed REITs and property securities

VehiclePrice / yieldLiquidityProperty / capital read
LapTrust Imara I-REITKES20.00 / 3.0% indicatedNo 22 Jul turnoverIncome case limited by trading
ALP Industrial REITUSD1.02 / n/aThinIndustrial property; USD board
TRIFIC Green USD I-REITUSD1.23 / 8% target at offerThin95% distribution policy; realised data limited
Acorn vehicles (USP)Prices varyPlatform liquidity unevenDevelopment/income exposure off main board

ANALYST READ Listed property does not yet offer a reliably observable, liquid income alternative. Discounts or premiums to NAV cannot be assessed without current harmonised NAV and occupancy data; listed units also differ from direct property through price volatility and exit risk.


Foreign investor participation

Are foreign investors returning to Kenyan equities, and which securities are receiving the capital?

Figure 4. Largest disclosed net foreign outflows by security, 22 July 2026.
Figure 4. Largest disclosed net foreign outflows by security, 22 July 2026.
PeriodPurchasesSalesNet / shareMain securitiesGrade / durability
22 JulKES26.23mKES173.35m-KES147.11mSold KCB, SafaricomE3 / D1
Week to 17 Juln/dn/d-USD2.2m; 19.1% activityBought Safaricom; sold EquityE3 / D2
22 Jul KES 129.37/USD——Stable anchorCurrency supports, does not cause flowE4 / D2

ANALYST READ Foreigners remain net sellers and the outflow is concentrated in liquid heavyweights. Stable currency conditions reduce one barrier, but do not yet produce strategic re-entry; transaction share must not be confused with net allocation.

Figure 4. Largest disclosed net foreign outflows by security, 22 July 2026.

ANALYST READ KCB and Safaricom account for almost 89% of the five displayed outflows. Foreign pressure therefore maps directly onto the market's most liquid and index-relevant securities.


Domestic institutional participation

Investor groupDirection / amountEvidenceHorizon / constraint
Pension fundsNot publicly disclosed at cut-offE0D3; allocation reports lag
InsurersNot publicly disclosedE0D3; solvency/liquidity constraints
Collective fundsAUM/subscription split unavailableE0D2–D3; performance can lift AUM
Domestic residual buyersAbsorbed 22 Jul foreign net sale by identity accountingE1D1; identity and motive unknown

ANALYST READ Domestic investors offset foreign selling in the mechanical sense, but the report cannot attribute the demand to pensions, insurers or funds. No domestic institutional movement meets E3, so durability is unproven.


Retail participation

IndicatorLatest / changeWhat it measuresWhat it does not proveGrade
Ziidi Trader40% of trades; 5% of volume at Feb launchTransaction count and small-ticket accessCurrent net inflow or ownershipE3
Number of deals8,860 on 22 Jul; -1,795 d/dActivity countRetail identityE4
CDS accountsCurrent active/new series unavailablePotential participationFunded capitalE0
Family Bank tradingKES17.05m on 22 JulNew-listing attentionRetail shareE3

ANALYST READ Mobile access is a structural improvement, but higher trade count is not the same as deeper invested capital. Current retail ownership, funded-account and small-ticket flow series are unavailable, so claims of a retail-led rally would be unsupported.


IPOs, listings and primary capital

Issuer / typeAmount / priceSubscription / allocationShares / useListing / returnGrade
KPC / public offerKES106.3bn / KES9105.7%; Kenyan retail+institutions 67.32%Secondary govt shares; infrastructure proceeds10 Mar; +1.6% currentE4
Family / introductionNo funds / KES18n/aExisting shares; no proceeds23 Jun; +48.1%E4
TRIFIC / I-REITAmount n/d / USD1Final amount n/dProperty vehicle unitsListed; USD1.23E2

ANALYST READ The listing channel is reopening, but corporate primary capital remains weak. KPC was a secondary government sell-down and Family raised no funds; strong demand therefore signals market deepening more than new corporate financing.


Rights issues, placements and dilution

CompanyInstrument / amountDilution / useBalance-sheet / shareholder read
NSE universeNo material completed rights issue identified in review periodn/aE0—not evidence of absence
Employee issuesNo material current disclosure synthesisedPotential dilution unknownMonitor issuer filings
Convertibles / preferenceNo material current equity-linked offer identifiedn/aPrimary capital pipeline remains sparse

ANALYST READ No verified transaction changes the investment case through dilution. The absence of a current public example reinforces the conclusion that the reopening is driven by listings and ownership transfers, not follow-on corporate equity.


Corporate actions and ownership changes

CompanyAction / size / priceCapital type / statusMinority / governanceGrade
Absa KenyaParent tender up to 16.5%; KES34.50; ~$238mSecondary; pending approvalLower free float; listing retainedE3
SafaricomVodacom bought 15%; KES34; stake 55%Secondary; completed 30 JunControl and CEO nomination rightsE3
EABLAsahi to acquire Diageo 65%; ~$2.3bnSecondary; expected H2 2026New strategic controllerE3
Family BankListing 1.663bn shares at KES18Secondary introduction; completedTransparency and liquidity improveE4

ANALYST READ None of the three strategic ownership transactions places new capital inside the listed operating company. They may improve strategic alignment, but also increase control concentration and reduce minority free float.


Corporate balance sheets and capital allocation

CompanyDebt / cash flowCapex / distributionAllocation assessment
SafaricomCurrent borrowings fell to KES25.5bn; CFO +23.4%Investing outflow KES99.8bn; dividend KES80.1bnGrowth and distribution balanced
StanchartCore capital/RWA 18.8%; liquidity 66.3%FY DPS KES31; Q1 no dividendCapital strong despite lower income
NSE PLCNo operating leverage concern highlightedDPS KES1; ATS impairment KES47.7mDistribution plus platform investment
KPCOffer proceeds did not enter issuerGovernment directs proceeds to infrastructureOwnership transfer, not KPC capex funding

ANALYST READ Safaricom shows the clearest growth-capex and dividend balance. KPC illustrates why capital-market volume must be traced to the recipient: a large offer can finance public infrastructure without strengthening the issuer's balance sheet.


Where capital is moving

Investor / vehicleDestination / directionAmount / periodMarketGrade / durationReversal / next
Foreign / NSEKCB + Safaricom outflow-KES131.3m / 22 JulSecondaryE3 / D1Flow turns positive
Investors / KPCGovernment share purchaseKES106.3bn / MarSecondary offerE4 / D4Post-list liquidity
Parent / SafaricomVodacom ownership inflow~$1.6bn / JunSecondaryE3 / D4Governance vote
Parent / AbsaProposed minority tender~$238m / pendingSecondaryE3 / D4CMA approval
Retail access / ZiidiMore transactions40% trades; 5% volume at launchSecondaryE3 / D4Current funded flows
Domestic institutionsDirection unavailablen/dSecondaryE0Disclosed allocation

ANALYST READ Strongest observed inflow: KPC's KES106.3bn subscription, to the government as seller. Strongest current outflow: foreign selling, led by KCB. No E3 domestic institutional flow is available. The most durable change is retail access and listing infrastructure; the most important inferred rotation remains toward bank earnings.


Capital destination map

Provider / vehicleCompany / sectorPrimary?AmountOperational destination / effect
Public investors / KPC offerKPC / infrastructureNo—secondaryKES106.3bnGovernment infrastructure fund; no KPC capacity directly
Vodacom / stake purchaseSafaricom / telecomNo—secondary~$1.6bnOwnership transfer only
Absa parent / tenderAbsa Kenya / bankNo—secondaryUp to ~$238mOwnership transfer; no lending capacity directly
Asahi / proposed stakeEABL / consumerNo—secondary~$2.3bnControl transfer; strategy may change later
Safaricom / retained cashTelecom operationsInternalInvesting KES99.8bn FY26Network and regional expansion

ANALYST READ The most visible equity transactions mostly transfer ownership. New productive capacity is presently financed more clearly through operating cash flow—especially Safaricom—than through primary equity issuance.


Leading indicators

IndicatorDirectionLead / thresholdInterpretation / failure
Foreign net flowNegative1–4 weeks / three positive weeksFastest regime changer; fails if selling persists
BreadthMixed1–3 weeks / >55% gainersNeeds complete data
TurnoverDown sharplyDays–weeks / >KES700m across >5 namesCurrent move unconfirmed
Bank H1 earningsPending2–6 weeks / positive breadthTests cyclicality and NIM
KES/USDStableImmediate / remain <132Supports foreign returns
91-day bill8.799%2–8 weeks / below 8.5%Would improve equity income relativity
Primary pipelineReopening listings1–8 weeks / issuer receives capitalStructural depth not yet funding

ANALYST READ Foreign net flow can change the regime fastest because it directly affects liquid heavyweights. The cleanest confirmation would be sustained positive flow together with broader turnover—not merely one large block.


Coincident indicators

IndicatorCurrentCurrent-condition read
Core indices+24.6–27.6% YTDStrong current price regime
Bank Index+30.4% YTDCyclical leadership
22 Jul turnoverKES347.3m; -64.9% d/dThin confirmation
Foreign flow-KES147.1m on 22 JulCounter-signal
Major earningsSafaricom, Equity, EABL positiveFundamental support
KES/USD129.37Stable cross-asset anchor

ANALYST READ Coincident evidence confirms price and earnings strength but conflicts on liquidity and foreign sponsorship. This is consistent with an earnings-led re-rating, not a fully broadened allocation cycle.


Lagging indicators

IndicatorConfirmsCannot establish
Audited FY earningsCash generation and dividend capacityCurrent-quarter momentum
Annual pension allocationLong-horizon domestic positioningLatest weekly flow
GDPBroad realised activityListed-company leadership
Completed capexPast investment deliveryFuture return on capital
Audited ownershipLegal/control structureCurrent trading intent

ANALYST READ Lagging evidence validates the quality of Safaricom's FY result and completed ownership changes. It cannot establish whether July's market move has durable breadth or new institutional sponsorship.


Conflicting signals

ContradictionWhy it mattersResolution testConfidence effect
Indices rise; turnover collapsesMomentum may be price impact, not allocationBroader KES700m+ turnoverLargest thesis risk
KES stable; foreigners sellCurrency stability insufficient for re-entryThree positive-flow weeksReduces foreign-flow confidence
KPC demand strong; current return +1.6%Offer demand has not produced large reratingSustained liquidity and earningsNeutral on pipeline quality
NSE PLC profit +134%; fair-value gain materialHeadline profit overstates recurring improvementFee growth and cash conversionModerates quality

ANALYST READ The combination of rising indices and collapsing turnover is the greatest near-term threat. If it persists, the report would reclassify the regime from earnings-led expansion to narrow momentum.


Cross-asset transmission

Origin → channelCorporate / equity effectBeneficiaries / pressuresConfirm / fail
CBR 8.75% → discount ratesSupports P/E/P/B; may compress bank asset yieldsDividend equities / bank NIMBills fall / inflation rises
KES stability → import and USD returnsProtects margins and foreign returnsEABL, industrials / exporters’ translationKES <132 / abrupt weakening
Credit growth → volumesBank revenue and domestic demandBanks, consumer / asset qualityLoans up with NPL stable / provisions jump
Foreign risk-off → liquid salesPressure on heavyweights and depthCash / KCB, SafaricomNet flow / global shock
Earnings broaden → allocationMore sectors support indexBanks, telco, consumer / thin laggardsPositive H1 breadth / warnings

ANALYST READ Lower rates are supportive but not one-directional: they reduce equity discount rates while potentially compressing bank spreads. The market needs loan growth and asset-quality stability for bank leadership to remain fundamentally grounded.


Relative attractiveness

SegmentEarnings / valueDividend / liquidityFlow / FXRelative view / risk
Large capsStrong / reratedModerate / highForeign sellingImproving moderately / concentration
Mid capsMixed / selectiveMixed / medium-lowDomestic inferredNeutral or mixed / exit risk
Small capsSparse / optically lowVariable / lowSpeculativeWeakening moderately / stale prices
BanksPositive but NIM mixedStrong / highForeign sellingImproving strongly / asset quality
TelecomStrong cash-backedModerate / highControl changeImproving moderately / Ethiopia
ConsumerEABL positiveMixed / mediumKES-sensitiveImproving moderately / costs
AgricultureCommodity-linkedHigh in tea / lowExport FXNeutral or mixed / weather
InsuranceMarket-sensitiveMixed / lowUnclearNeutral or mixed / volatility
Listed propertyIncompleteTarget yields / very lowUnclearWeakening moderately / liquidity
Cash / billsNo growth8.799% bill / highKESNeutral comparator / reinvestment

ANALYST READ Banks offer the strongest combined earnings, dividend and breadth signal, but are exposed to NIM and asset-quality risk. Large caps remain most investable; small caps and REITs require the largest liquidity adjustment. This is a market comparison, not personalised advice.


Scenario outlook

Scenario / prob.Index / breadthTurnover / flowsLeaders / pressuresConfirm / invalidate
Base / 50–60%Consolidation-to-moderate gains; mixed breadthBelow prior peaks; foreign intermittentBanks, Safaricom / illiquid momentumH1 earnings hold / breadth erodes
Upside / 20–30%Broadening advance>KES700m across >5 counters; foreign positiveBanks, EABL, utilities / cash3 positive-flow weeks / flow reverses
Downside / 15–25%Heavyweights reverse; breadth contracts<KES300m or sale-led spike; foreign negativeBills / small caps, high-betaKES >132 and negative revisions / liquidity recovers

ANALYST READ The base case is most likely because earnings remain supportive while marginal liquidity is weak. Banks have the clearest upside asymmetry if H1 volume offsets lower yields; illiquid momentum shares carry the most downside. Foreign flow could change the scenario fastest.


Institutional investor interpretation

LensTechnical read
Market structureMajor-index breadth positive; exact equal-weight and advance/decline E0. Turnover top-three 62.2%; free-float concentration material.
FundamentalsSafaricom CFO confirms profit; Equity/EABL growth broadens earnings; Stanchart exposes NIM compression; ROIC dataset incomplete.
ValuationSafaricom ~14.8x trailing; equity yields compete selectively with 8.799% bills; P/B and historical-percentile synthesis incomplete.
Capital flowsForeign outflow E3/D1–D2; domestic institutional flow E0; ownership transfers E3/D4; KPC demand E4 but secondary.
TransmissionRate-sensitive rerating versus bank-spread compression; stable KES supports USD return; global risk-off hits liquid heavyweights first.

ANALYST READ The technical trade-off is quality versus sponsorship: core earnings are credible, but market depth and flow confirmation lag. Portfolio sensitivity is highest to bank results, Safaricom-specific news and foreign liquidation in the same liquid names.


What confirms the view

IndicatorRequired thresholdWindowEffect
Turnover breadth>KES700m with at least five counters >5% each3–5 sessionsRaises liquidity confidence
Foreign flowNet positive for three completed weeks3 weeksConfirms re-entry
Breadth>55% active shares gain2 weeksConfirms representation
Bank earningsMajority report positive PAT with stable NPLH1 cycleConfirms leadership
Cash conversionOperating cash follows profit in leadersNext filingConfirms quality
Primary issuanceNew issuer capital with stated productive use1–8 weeksConfirms funding revival

ANALYST READ The single most important confirmation is broader turnover. It would show that positive earnings are translating into executable allocation rather than price gains concentrated in a few names.


What invalidates the view

ConditionThreshold / windowRevised interpretationReport response
Breadth deteriorates<40% gainers for two weeks while NASI risesNarrow heavyweight rallyCut regime confidence
Foreign selling persistsFour consecutive negative weeksNo external sponsorshipRaise flow-risk weight
Turnover collapses<KES300m for five sessionsIlliquid momentumIncrease liquidity discount
Earnings revisions weakenWarnings or majority negative H1 deltasRe-rating outruns fundamentalsReclassify to overextension
KES weakens>132/USD sustained two weeksForeign USD return impairedShift downside probability higher
Leaders reverseBanks and Safaricom both break monthly trendCore leadership failsAbandon base-case bias

ANALYST READ A simultaneous reversal in banks and Safaricom would change the view fastest because it would remove both the main earnings engine and the market's liquid leadership.


Monitor next

DateEventSector / indicatorWhy it matters
24 Jul 2026Jubilee final dividend paymentInsurance / incomeTests income-support narrative
30 Jul 2026TPS Serena dividend paymentConsumer/servicesCash return
31 Jul 2026Safaricom AGM; governance vote contextTelecom / controlHighest index sensitivity
31 Jul 2026NSE, Kenya Re, Total dividend paymentsCross-sector incomeDistribution execution
4 Aug 2026Safaricom final-dividend book closeTelecom / incomePrice adjustment and demand
31 Aug 2026Crown and Liberty dividend datesIndustrial / insuranceIncome support
4 Sep 2026Safaricom final-dividend paymentTelecom / cashKES46.1bn distribution
H1 reporting cycleMajor listed-bank resultsBanks / PAT, NIM, NPLTests market leadership

ANALYST READ Safaricom's AGM and the H1 bank reporting cycle are most likely to change the view. The first tests governance and dividend execution; the second tests whether bank-price leadership remains earnings-backed.


Data quality and limitations

DatasetLatest / frequencyLimitationConfidence effect
NSE prices/turnover22 Jul / dailyThin/stale counters; blocks distort turnoverHigh for market totals, lower for investability
Index returns22 Jul / dailyPrice return; methodology differs; no equal weightModerate on breadth
Foreign flows22 Jul / broker dailyNot on public NSE dashboard; turnover ≠ net flowModerate-high on direction
Domestic institutionsLagged / irregularNo current net allocation by groupMajor constraint on capital map
Consensus/valuationSparseLimited forward estimates and comparable adjustmentsLimits precision
Issuer earningsMixed FY/Q1/H1Audited and unaudited periods differCompany-specific
Ownership/actionsEvent-drivenCompletion and regulatory conditions varyGrade each transaction
REITsThin / irregularNAV, occupancy and trades not harmonisedLow on relative value

ANALYST READ Incomplete domestic allocation and current stock-level breadth most constrain the report. They prevent a firm conclusion that institutions are replacing foreign sellers or that the index advance represents the median listed share.


Sources

All links retrieved 23 July 2026. Status describes the source data used in this report; broker and media sources remain secondary even where they quote direct filings.

IDInstitutionExact source / periodStatusDirect link
S1Nairobi Securities ExchangeMarket Statistics, statistics as of 22 July 2026NSE/regulator • final dailyOpen source
S2Nairobi Securities ExchangeDaily Equity Price List, 22 July 2026NSE/regulator • final dailyOpen source
S3Kingdom SecuritiesDaily Market Wrap, 22 July 2026Licensed broker • compiled dailyOpen source
S4Standard Investment BankKenya Weekly Market Wrap, week ended 17 July 2026Licensed broker • compiled weeklyOpen source
S5Kingdom SecuritiesDaily Market Wrap, 30 June 2026Licensed broker • compiled dailyOpen source
S6Kingdom SecuritiesDaily Market Wrap, 31 December 2025Licensed broker • compiled dailyOpen source
S7Central Bank of KenyaCurrent key rates and exchange rates, 22 July 2026Official macro • currentOpen source
S8Central Bank of KenyaMPC decision: CBR retained at 8.75%, 10 June 2026Official policy • finalOpen source
S9Kenya National Bureau of StatisticsConsumer Price Index, June 2026Official statistics • finalOpen source
S10Safaricom PLCAudited results for the year ended 31 March 2026Issuer filing • auditedOpen source
S11Equity Group HoldingsQ1 2026 results releaseIssuer release • unaudited Q1Open source
S12Standard Chartered Bank KenyaUnaudited financial statements, quarter ended 31 March 2026Issuer filing • unaudited Q1Open source
S13East African Breweries PLCHalf-year 2026 results releaseIssuer release • unaudited H1Open source
S14Nairobi Securities Exchange PLCAnnual report and financial statements, year ended 31 December 2025Issuer filing • auditedOpen source
S15Family BankAbridged information memorandum: listing by introduction, June 2026Transaction document • finalOpen source
S16Kenya Pipeline CompanyIPO information memorandum, 2026Prospectus • finalOpen source
S17ReutersKenya Pipeline IPO gets 105.7% subscription, 4 March 2026Contextual media • confirmedOpen source
S18ReutersKenya Pipeline listing and proceeds, 10 March 2026Contextual media • confirmedOpen source
S19ReutersAbsa tender offer for Absa Bank Kenya minorities, 19 June 2026Contextual media • proposedOpen source
S20ReutersSafaricom ownership and CEO nomination vote, 8 July 2026Contextual media • completedOpen source
S21ReutersCourt clears proposed Diageo sale of EABL stake to Asahi, 9 April 2026Contextual media • proposedOpen source
S22ReutersZiidi Trader launch and early NSE activity, 10 February 2026Contextual media • launch dataOpen source
S23TRIFICTRIFIC Green USD I-REIT offer informationIssuer/vehicle • offer dataOpen source
S24Nairobi Securities ExchangeFinancial results repository, 2026NSE repository • mixedOpen source
S25International Monetary FundWorld Economic Outlook Update, July 2026Official multilateral • updateOpen source
S26Nairobi Securities ExchangeListed companies register, retrieved 23 July 2026NSE register • currentOpen source

ANALYST READ Primary exchange, issuer and official macro sources anchor levels and fundamentals. Broker wraps supply foreign-flow and turnover decomposition; Reuters supplies contextual transaction confirmation. No internal Serrari Intelligence or fund-flow dataset was used.


Final Desk conclusion

Kenya's dominant equity regime is a bank-led earnings and valuation expansion, with Safaricom providing the second large-cap engine. The move is broad across the principal indices but remains concentrated in executable liquidity: KCB, Safaricom and KenGen generated 62% of the latest session's turnover. Earnings and cash flow support the core thesis—most clearly at Safaricom, Equity and EABL—although Stanchart's Q1 decline and NSE PLC's fair-value contribution warn against treating the recovery as uniform. Valuations are defensible in the liquid leaders where profit and dividends have grown, but yields must clear an 8.799% Treasury-bill comparator and illiquid shares require a material exit-risk discount.

Foreign capital is presently leaving KCB and Safaricom, while the domestic buyer mix is undisclosed. Primary-market activity is visually stronger than its corporate-funding content: KPC's KES106.3bn offer and Family Bank's listing were secondary transactions, so neither injected new equity into the issuer. The most durable movement is structural market access—new listings, mobile trading and strategic ownership transfers—rather than verified institutional net inflow. Stable currency and lower rates support the equity discount rate, but sustained foreign selling or bank-margin pressure could reverse the rerating. Broader turnover is the critical next signal.