Skip to main content

Select Accept all cookies to allow optional cookies, or Reject optional cookies to turn off optional advertising cookies. Analytics remains on with either choice. You can change your advertising choice at any time through Cookie settings.

Cookie Policy (opens in a new tab)Privacy Policy (opens in a new tab)

Money Market Fund Minimum Investment by Fund in Kenya: All 27 Funds Listed
Money Market Funds

Money Market Fund Minimum Investment by Fund in Kenya: All 27 Funds Listed

6 min read
Serrari Wealth Builder
Rosemary Wambui

Rosemary Wambui

Research Graduate Trainee, Serrari Group

Contents & display options
Money Market Funds

Money Market Fund Minimum Investment by Fund in Kenya: All 27 Funds Listed

6 min readby Rosemary WambuiSerrari Wealth Builder

Updated October 2026. Each minimum below was checked against the fund manager's own website, fact sheet or key information document. Managers change their minimums, so confirm with the manager before depositing.


Money market fund minimums at a glance

Kenya's 27 CMA-regulated money market funds ask for anything from nothing at all to KSh 1 million to open an account:

  • KSh 0: Kuza has no opening minimum (top-ups from KSh 50)
  • KSh 100: Etica, Ziidi, Co-op and Jubilee
  • KSh 500: Hela Imara (Genghis) and ICEA Lion
  • KSh 1,000: the most common minimum, 11 funds
  • KSh 2,500 to 5,000: Sanlam Allianz, Arvocap, Madison, KCB and CIC
  • KSh 100,000 and above: Nabo Africa, African Alliance, GenAfrica and Dry Associates

In total, 18 of the 27 funds accept KSh 1,000 or less. If you only need the short answer to "how much do I need to start?", read the minimum investment for a money market fund in Kenya.


Minimum investment for every money market fund in Kenya

Sorted from the lowest opening minimum to the highest. Tap a fund to see its live yield, fees and history on Serrari.

FundOpening minimumTop-upSource
Kuza MMFKSh 0KSh 50Kuza product page
Etica MMFKSh 100KSh 100Key information document, May 2026
Ziidi MMF (Safaricom)KSh 100Not statedSafaricom Ziidi page (M-Pesa only)
Co-op MMFKSh 100FlexibleCo-op Trust product page, fact sheet Jun 2026
Jubilee MMFKSh 100KSh 100Jubilee FAQ and funding instructions, May 2026
Hela Imara MMF (Genghis)KSh 500KSh 500Genghis Capital fund page
ICEA Lion MMFKSh 500Any amountICEA Lion fund page
Cytonn MMFKSh 1,000KSh 100Fact sheet, Jul 2026
Lofty-Corban MMFKSh 1,000KSh 100Lofty-Corban brochure, 2024
Old Mutual MMFKSh 1,000KSh 1,000Old Mutual fund page
Britam MMFKSh 1,000KSh 1,000Britam brochure, Sep 2024
NCBA Fixed Income FundKSh 1,000KSh 1,000Fact sheet, Oct 2025
Stanbic MMFKSh 1,000KSh 1,000Fact sheet, Sep 2026
Equity MMFKSh 1,000Not statedEquity Investment Bank launch release (older)
Orient Kasha MMFKSh 1,000*—Not published by the manager
Faulu MMFKSh 1,000*—Not published by the manager
CPF MMFKSh 1,000*—Not published by the manager
Apollo MMFKSh 1,000*—Not published by the manager
Sanlam Allianz MMFKSh 2,500KSh 1,000Sanlam Allianz unit-trust FAQ
Arvocap MMFKSh 3,000*—Not published by the manager
Madison MMFKSh 5,000KSh 1,000Madison fund page
KCB MMFKSh 5,000Not statedKCB Group
CIC MMFKSh 5,000KSh 1,000Fact sheet, Jul 2026
Nabo Africa MMFKSh 100,000*—Not published by the manager
African Alliance MMFKSh 100,000*—Not published by the manager
GenAfrica MMFKSh 500,000Not statedFact sheet, Jun 2024
Dry Associates MMFKSh 1,000,000KSh 250,000Fact sheet, Oct 2026

* The manager does not publish this minimum on its own website or fact sheet. The figure is Serrari's record; confirm it with the manager before you deposit.

"Not stated" means the manager publishes an opening minimum but no separate top-up minimum.

For the live yield, net yield after fees and management fee of every fund, see the Serrari money market fund comparison.


Opening minimum vs top-up: what is the difference?

The opening minimum is the smallest first deposit a fund accepts. The top-up minimum is the smallest amount you can add after that.

They are often different. Cytonn and Lofty-Corban ask for KSh 1,000 to open but accept top-ups from KSh 100. Dry Associates asks for KSh 1,000,000 to open and KSh 250,000 for each top-up. Kuza needs nothing to open and takes top-ups from KSh 50.

If you plan to save a small amount every month, the top-up minimum matters more than the opening one.


Money market funds you can start with under KSh 500

Five funds accept less than KSh 500:

  • Kuza: no opening minimum, top-ups from KSh 50
  • Etica: KSh 100 to open and to top up
  • Ziidi (Safaricom): KSh 100, opened and topped up only through M-Pesa
  • Co-op: KSh 100, and the lowest management fee in the market (0.90%)
  • Jubilee: KSh 100 to open and to top up

These suit first-time investors and anyone who wants to build the habit with small, regular deposits.


Funds that start at KSh 500 to KSh 1,000

Hela Imara (Genghis) and ICEA Lion start at KSh 500.

KSh 1,000 is the most common minimum: Cytonn, Lofty-Corban, Old Mutual, Britam, NCBA, Stanbic and Equity all publish it, and Orient Kasha, Faulu, CPF and Apollo are recorded at KSh 1,000 by Serrari but do not publish a figure.

Most of the highest-yielding funds sit in this band, so a KSh 1,000 first deposit opens most of the market.


Funds that need KSh 2,500 to KSh 5,000

  • Sanlam Allianz: KSh 2,500, top-ups from KSh 1,000
  • Arvocap: KSh 3,000 (Serrari record; not published by the manager)
  • Madison: KSh 5,000, top-ups from KSh 1,000
  • KCB: KSh 5,000
  • CIC: KSh 5,000, top-ups from KSh 1,000

These are mostly large insurer- and bank-affiliated funds.


Funds for larger investors: KSh 100,000 and above

  • Nabo Africa and African Alliance: KSh 100,000 (Serrari records; neither manager publishes the figure)
  • GenAfrica: KSh 500,000
  • Dry Associates: KSh 1,000,000, with top-ups of KSh 250,000

High minimums usually mean the fund is aimed at institutions, companies' cash reserves and high-net-worth investors. A higher minimum does not mean a higher return.


Do not choose a fund on the minimum alone

The minimum only decides whether you can get in. What you earn depends on:

  • Net yield: the return after the management fee
  • Management fee: most funds charge 2% a year, a few charge less
  • Withdrawal speed: how many business days it takes to receive your money
  • Top-up channel: whether you can add money from M-Pesa

Compare all four on the live money market fund table, then use the compound interest calculator to see what your deposits could grow to.


How Serrari checks these figures

We checked each fund's minimum against the manager's own published material: its website, frequently asked questions, monthly fact sheet or key information document, and noted the date of each document. Where a manager publishes nothing, we show our own record and mark it with an asterisk rather than repeat a figure copied between websites.

Minimums change. If a manager's current documents show a different figure, the manager is right; tell us and we will update this page.


Frequently Asked Questions


Which money market fund in Kenya has the lowest minimum investment?

Kuza Money Market Fund has no opening minimum, and top-ups start at KSh 50. Etica, Ziidi, Co-op and Jubilee each start at KSh 100 (October 2026).


What is the minimum investment for the KCB money market fund?

KCB publishes a KSh 5,000 minimum to open its shilling money market fund (October 2026).


What is the minimum investment for the CIC money market fund?

KSh 5,000 to open, with top-ups from KSh 1,000, according to CIC's July 2026 fact sheet.


What is the minimum investment for the Sanlam Allianz money market fund?

KSh 2,500 to open, with top-ups from KSh 1,000, according to Sanlam Allianz's unit-trust FAQ (October 2026).


How much do I need to start investing in Ziidi?

KSh 100. Ziidi is opened and topped up only through M-Pesa.


What is the minimum investment for the Etica money market fund?

KSh 100 to open and KSh 100 to top up, according to Etica's May 2026 key information document.


Which money market funds need KSh 100,000 or more?

Nabo Africa and African Alliance (KSh 100,000, Serrari records), GenAfrica (KSh 500,000) and Dry Associates (KSh 1,000,000).


Is the top-up amount the same as the minimum investment?

Not always. Several funds accept smaller top-ups than their opening minimum, for example KSh 100 top-ups at funds that ask for KSh 1,000 to open.


The Bottom Line

18 of Kenya's 27 money market funds accept KSh 1,000 or less, five accept under KSh 500, and one needs nothing to open. Use the minimum to narrow the list, then compare net yields and fees before you choose.

Related reading: what is a money market fund in Kenya?, are money market funds safe in Kenya? and how to invest in an MMF via M-Pesa.

Compare all 27 funds live on Serrari.

Serrari Markets

Put this knowledge to work.

Use Serrari's live Market Index and curated Marketplace to compare investment products and act on the insights in this guide.

Found this guide helpful?

Share this guide